Week #77 Happy Easter!

vonklever-christwalkingonwater

Good aftermorning!!!! (I heard a taxi man say that this morning, thought I would use it haha!)

This week has been a good week. I am getting daaaark. I am being called brownin’ more than usual! Yuuuus. Being called brownin’ is so much cooler then whitey. But really though, May Pen is hot a sunny and I am getting dark. Perfect timing, I will go home nice and tan!

Shantel is doing so well! She told us that how since she has been meeting with us she has felt God’s love for her more. I just love her.

President Brown was at District Meeting so it was good to see him! I love my mission president 🙂

We had service at the Wallace’s house. We raked up grass and leaves. It was hot but fun! Get this, I haven’t told you about this before but in Jamaica they burn their garbage. How much easier is that? You just rake everything together and then burn it! So much easier than having to deal with garbage cans. I suggest we do that when I get home haha 🙂

I didn’t tell you this I don’t think, but I few weeks ago I heard one of our investigators get into the spirit. We didn’t see it because she was in the other room, but she was fighting with her sister, a rasta. A Christian sister VS. a Rasta sister. The Christian sister got into the spirit and spoke in “tongues” and stuff and kept yelling “THE DEVIL IS A LIAR”. Yea, it was interesting. I recorded it and I will show you when I get home. Man…. It is weird, the people here who talk about getting in the spirit and talking in tonges and that kind of stuff always talk about the Devil and how bad and evil he is. We all know that he is a bad guy but we don’t really need to talk about him. The more we talk about him, the more he is invited into your life. There is a reason the Prophets don’t really talk about him… It was a crazy experience.

We had woman’s conference! I hope you all watched it, it was so good. I can’t wait for conference!

Happy Easter friends and family. It’s funny, in the missionary rule book it talkes about how weekends and holidays are the best way to find people to teach. That may be true back home, but not in Jamaica. Everyone goes out like to the beach or what not on holidays haha! But we had a wonderful holiday! We ate lots of bun and cheese (a Jamaican Easter tradition). Elder Holland said “Beginning in the spiritual anguish of the Garden of Gethsemane, moving to the Crucifixion on a cross at Calvary, and concluding on a beautiful Sunday morning inside a donated tomb, a sinless, pure, and holy man, the very Son of God Himself, did what no other deceased person had ever done nor ever could do. Under His own power, He rose from death, never to have His body separated from His spirit again. Of His own volition, He shed the burial linen with which He had been bound, carefully putting the burial napkin that had been placed over His face “in a place by itself,” the scripture says. That first Easter sequence of Atonement and Resurrection constitutes the most consequential moment, the most generous gift, the most excruciating pain, and the most majestic manifestation of pure love ever to be demonstrated in the history of this world. Jesus Christ, the Only Begotten Son of God, suffered, died, and rose from death in order that He could, like lightning in a summer storm, grasp us as we fall, hold us with His might, and through our obedience to His commandments, lift us to eternal life.”

I know that Jesus is the Christ. I know that he lives! I am grateful that he was Resurrected because it gives me hope to be resurrected!

I love you all!

Love,
Sister Garrett

Leave a Reply

