Week #57 Work the Name Tag

 

My dear familia,

How was your week? My week was a bit crazy and all over the place but wonderful, nevertheless. So I told you last week that I would be going to Mandeville with Sister Lynn and Sister Lewis. Tis not so…. Yet…. So Tuesday night Elder Havili, one of the AP’s called and informed me that I would be on assignment in Hopeton with Sister Loveland. So the mission has been waiting for this new Sister for the past two transfers to get here. We have been having some visa problems lately… So basically I am in Hopeton, which is kind of part of Mandeville, until this Sister arrives. I have the feeling it will be 2 weeks but it could be as long as a whole transfer (6 weeks). Apparently mission presidents in America don’t want to send missionaries here until the transfer because it messes everything up… Which is understandable, but when we have been waiting for our Sister for going into 3 transfers, it is kind of frustrating. But nevertheless, it is all in the hands of the Lord.

I am so grateful to be in Hopeton with Sister Loveland! HI BROTHER AND SISTER LOVELAND!!! (Yea, your wonderful daughter said that you read my blog!) You have an amazing daughter. I love serving with her! And Brother Loveland, you have a sick beard!

Anywho, yea Sister Loveland and I have been getting along great. We have become the best of friends. We have the same personality, it’s crazy. So let me tell you about the subject line. So we were going home from transfer meeting and Sister Loveland gets pulled over by the Babylon (the police). This is an approximation of what happened:

(As the officer is walking up) Sister Garrett, Sister Moeletsi, Sister Tebo: Work the name tag! Work it!
(We sit in a way that the officer can read our name tags)
Officer 1: Do you know why you were pulled over? You were speeding. (shows us the radar). This officer will help you.
Officer 2: License and Registration. (Sister Garrett goes into the glove box to grab it) Sister… Loveland.. The Church of Jesus Christ of….. What are you guys?
Sister Loveland: We are missionaries!
Office 2: What do you do?
Sister Loveland: Well, we help people come unto Christ. Actually we have a book in the back, can we give it to you?
Officer 2: Uh no… (hands us back the lisence and registration and then walks away)
Sister Missionaries: Uhhhhh
(We look back and he waves us on…)

Man… If only I got out of a ticket in Cayman by working my nametag… All missionaries #WorkTheNameTag It was so great! Man… From then on, we have been laughing all the time. It has been such a great transfer thus far. I can’t wait to see where this transfer (or at least these next couple weeks) takes us. Sister Loveland is just the best.

I got a glimpse of being an STL. After transfer meeting we had a meeting with all the Zone Leaders, the AP’s and President Brown. I can’t say exactly what is going on… Yet… But things are going to be changing in this mission. We are trying to change the culture of the mission into a culture of baptisms! President Brown told us some of the things that has been on his mind and man… It was crazy! This mission, soon come, will be a powerful mission!

Oh on Tuesday, I got to spend the day with Sister Kelly, a new missionary, while Sister Bogle and Sister Thompson went to trainers meeting! It was so wonderful to be with her. She is a powerful missionary. The trainee’s have such amazing fire. Man. She is great.

On Saturday, we had National Day of Service where we went and helped clean a school. The members chopped the yard (or in American terms mowed the lawn… With a machette…) while Sister Loveland and I had the pleasure of coloring pictures of some of the alphabet and the numbers 1-10 to put on the wall. It was so fun. We are professional colorers now hahaha 😉

There has been so much that has happened this week but my mind is at a blank… Just know that I am safe and that I am loving what I am doing. Missionary work is the best. Oh yea, I should mention… Yesterday was my 13 month mark! Man…. Crazy how time flies… I have been out 13 months… I go home in 5ish months…. Weird… Soon come President Brown is going to have the interview with me… About the 5 year plan… Where I have to figure out my life…. Can’t I be a missionary forever? A joke!

I love this work. I love this gospel. I am grateful to have the opportunity to serve my Lord and Savior. It is the most important thing that I will ever do. Don’t forget that being a member means you are automatically a missionary!

Keep on keepin on. Big up unoself. Likkle more.

Nuff love,
Sister Garrett

1) Sister Loveland and I!
2) 13 months!
3) Coloring craziness!
4) Four generation picture! Sister Mouritsen went home this transfer…. But my daughter is training 🙂 Ya mon!

Leave a Reply

