Week #52 Conference Got Me All Trunky….

Hola!!!

So this week was a more difficult week, we just have been having to do a lot of finding because close to none of our investigators are progressing… It has been a stressful week… It is the Lord trying to mold me into something better than I am. But lets just say that General Conference could not have come at a better time. Conference was absolutely AMAZING. Some of my favorite talks are; Robert D. Hales, Jeffery R. Holland, Larry R. Lawrence and Russell M. Nealson. Basically ALL of the talks were pretty good.

Robert D. Hales was basically dating 101…. Haha I liked the quote by him, "None of us marry perfection; we marry potential. The right marriage is not only about what I want; it’s also about what she wants … and needs me to be. …"

Jeffery R. Holland’s talk made me cry. It made me miss you mom soooo much! "No love in mortality comes closer to approximating the pure love of Jesus Christ than the selfless love a devoted mother has for her child… To all of our mothers everywhere, past, present, or future, I say, “Thank you. Thank you for giving birth, for shaping souls, for forming character, and for demonstrating the pure love of Christ.” To Mother Eve, to Sarah, Rebekah, and Rachel, to Mary of Nazareth, and to a Mother in Heaven, I say, “Thank you for your crucial role in fulfilling the purposes of eternity.” To all mothers in every circumstance, including those who struggle—and all will—I say, “Be peaceful. Believe in God and yourself. You are doing better than you think you are. In fact, you are saviors on Mount Zion, and like the Master you follow, your love ‘never faileth [Moroni 7:46; see also 1 Corinthians 13:8].’” I can pay no higher tribute to anyone." Man, I cried through that talk. I don’t know what anyone else says but I could have no better Mom. Mom, you have changed my life, made me want to be a better person and even loved me through all the sass of teenage years. That talk was powerful. Elder Holland is one of my favorite apostles!

Larry R. Lawrence’s talk helps me understand how I can improve. I have been desiring to improve these past few weeks. I want to become the disciple and servant that the Lord wants me to become. Improvement comes when we humble ourselves to God and ask for His help! However, we need to ask the Lord for directions along the way. We have to ask some difficult questions—questions like “What do I need to change?” “How can I improve?” “What weakness needs strengthening?” … I would like to suggest that each of you participate in a spiritual exercise sometime soon, perhaps even tonight while saying your prayers. Humbly ask the Lord the following question: “What is keeping me from progressing?” In other words: “What lack I yet?” Then wait quietly for a response. If you are sincere, the answer will soon become clear. It will be revelation intended just for you… If spiritual growth is not a priority in our lives, if we are not on a course of steady improvement, we will miss out on the important experiences that God wants to give us."

Russell M. Nealson, WOMAN POWER! "We need women who have a bedrock understanding of the doctrine of Christ and who will use that understanding to teach and help raise a sin-resistant generation. We need women who can detect deception in all of its forms. We need women who know how to access the power that God makes available to covenant keepers and who express their beliefs with confidence and charity." It is time for women to step up their game.

Unfortunately we didn’t get to see the Sunday afternoon talk because Sister Bogle has been sick the past few days and she really needed to go home and rest. But thank goodness for technology, we will catch up soon!

Oh we had Zone Meeting on Wednesday and I GOT TO SEE SISTER WRIGHT, MY DAUGHTER!!!! I love that girl! She is serving in my home of Ocho Rios, Jamaica! She is a lucky girl. Ochi days were the best.

I am grateful to be on my mission. I am going to talk more about my year mark next week because I am in denial that I hit my year mark on Thursday… Man, where did the time go? In one aspect it kind of was slow but on the other hand it FLEW by. Everyone says that the last 6 months goes by the fastest and I am nervous for that. I love and miss you my dear family so much, but Jamaica (and Cayman) have become my home. It is going to be a huge change and I don’t know if I am ready for that… But hey, I got six months to work my hardest.

Stay close to the gospel. Never stray from it. We have a Heavenly Father who loves us more than we even know. I love my Heavenly Father and Savior Jesus Christ. We are nothing compared to God, we are the dust of the Earth, yet he wants us to call him Father! I truly do stand all amazing.

I hope you have a wonderful week! Remember who you are!

Love,
Sister Garrett

1) Sister Wright!
2) Elder Pulsifer! We came out together! 1 year ayeeeee!
3) Elder Zeck. SOS 2:15
4) Birthday party for Sister Kerr (a member)
5) A sign we found

Leave a Reply

