Week #48 My life has been touched by so many people! I’m blessed :)

Wa’hopin?

So this week was pretty amazing. Basically Sunday was pretty amazing! We had TWO INVESTIGATORS AT CHURCH!!!! I don’t think you know how long it has been since that has happened to me. Wow, it was amazing! We get to church and an investigator named Rajesh (no he isn’t Indian, he is Jamaican) was sitting in one of the rows towards the front. Apparently he had gotten there around 20 minutes before we even got there. This is his second time at church, but last week he arrived during the 3rd hour. Back story, so we had a lesson with him on Saturday in which we read from the Book of Mormon! A BOM usually is a relatively simple lesson, but the Spirit was so strong. So Rajesh isn’t really good at reading, so we are teaching him to read! We taught him to spell out the words and then sound out the sounds! He picked it up and started recognizing words that he had read previously in the versus’s. It was so amazing to see him pick up reading and to gain confidence in himself. It was just so great. I was so full of joy and happiness that words can’t even describe. I was smiling basically the whole lesson. So at the end of the lesson we committed him to come to church, that even though he didn’t have taxi fare to come to church and to run errands today that the Lord will provide a way for him to attend. We suggested that he started to walk and something amazing would happen. I asked him how he got to church the next day and he hitched a ride with a truck! Oh another side note, hitching rides in the beds of trucks or in cars and stuff like that is very common here in the Caribbean. You will see a truck like DJ has with the bed full of people. The other investigator who was there was Travis. We had committed Travis to church a few days ago but we weren’t sure if he was going to make it. I was sitting next to Rajesh and my companion, Sister Dill, was a few rows behind me. After church Sister Dill showed me that Travis had made it to church πŸ™‚ Both Travis and Rajesh both stayed for all 3 hours! Travis asked lots of questions during the Gospel Principals class (the lesson was on the gifts of the Spirit). Gah, it just felt so good to have them at church. Slowly I am fulfilling my purpose in helping them come unto Christ.

On Saturday President Brown came and we had interviews. I realized that my next interview will be nothing about missionary work… Ew… Any who, it was so wonderful to see Pres again after being away for 6 months. When Pres first saw me he came and shook my hand and welcomed me back to the island and said they missed me and everything. So the interview was… different… To say the least. The majority of the interview was about super planning and how everyone in the mission needs to step up their super planning game. He asked about my obedience like, Am I all the way ready make up included before studies? Do I wake up on time? Etc. I am obedient. And yes, I do have my make up on before my studies. One of the Elders and I basically had the same interview, obedience and planning were two of the main points of our interviews haha! President Brown said that we will never be perfect in our lives, that we will have things to repent of (his example was that of wanting to hit a companion needed to be repented of), but we can be perfectly obedient to the missionary handbook (the missionary rules). Anyway, something powerful happened. During the opening prayer that he said to begin our interview, he said that my mission has been unique. That my mission has been more for my companions than it has been for the people. I had never thought about it like that, but it is so true. I haven’t been the highest baptizing missionary, I have had 3 baptisms (I love those 3 people dearly). My companions all went through personal, private things that I was able to help them with. You know how they say that as a missionary you promised people in the pre-mortal world that you would find them? Well, maybe that is the same thing but with my companions. Maybe my companions got a glimpse of what would go on in their mission and I promised them I would help them get through it. Cool thought right? Anyway, back to the interview. It was wonderful to be in the presence of my mission president. Interviews in person are so much better than on Skype. He asked me if I was healthy and if I was cooking…. Pres is big into cooking food! I have to say, I have been cooking a lot with Sister Dill. What else happened in the interview? I can’t remember… Basically it was amazing!

You know what question that I got a lot this past week? "Where do you get your shape?" I even have been asked if I a mixed, as in mixed white and black. HOLLA. Anyway, yea awkward. So I tell them that I don’t really know, that my mom is skinny but my grandma’s were more shapely I guess. I have been told that I should never lose my shape. Oh man, gotta love dem yardies (A yardie is another name for Jamaican) πŸ™‚

So it was Sister Dill’s birthday on Saturday so I made sure to have a good day with her! I made pancakes and bacon for breakfast. We went to Wendy’s for lunch. Then we went to Peir 1 for dinner with the elders. The Elders in Mobay are some of the funniest Elders ever! That dinner was a blast! Then after dinner in the parking lot Elder Smith and I floured Sister Dill. Elders Lafeyette, Zeck and Bennett all ran to the car… LAME. Well Elder Bennett was outside at first but then when I got some flour to throw at him he ran… Elders man… Anyway, she was covered in flour! It was the best. We still had one more lesson that night at a Recent Converts house. The RC is named Sasha and she is 9 years old. When she saw that Sister Dill had flour on her she snuck away and grabbed flour to throw on her. Her mom was all like that’s not nice… And then grabbed some of the flour and threw it on Sister Dill. It was hilarious! It was a really good day πŸ™‚ Sister Dill had a great 33 birthday! I love that girl.

Guess what we made this past week? Deep. Fried. Oreos. THEY WERE DELICIOUS! Heaven sent. I challenge you to try it this week.

I love being a missionary. I love the work I am doing. I love who I work with. I love who I am becoming. This gospel truly does change lives. I am so grateful that I get to serve my Savior for the next 7 months. The time goes quickly but I am going to do my best with the time that I have left. I would want to be no where else at this moment than right here in Montego Bay with Sister Dill. I love my calling. Mom and Dad, I am grateful for you and how you have always been dedicated to the gospel. I am grateful for the lessons, big and small, that you have taught me. David and Chase, I am grateful that you are my two "big little" brothers. My life wouldn’t be the same without you. Sure, we had our fights growing up but you are my two bestest friends. I love you. That being said, I haven’t heard from the two of you in a while….

The music that is playing right now in the email shop reminds me of CHRISTMAS. Soon come, it will be Christmas time. We just have a little more than 3 months πŸ™‚ Christmas time in Jamaica is the best!!!

I love you all. Never forget who you are. You are a beautiful son or daughter of God. "God knows of your successes; though they may seem small to you He acknowledges and cherishes each one of them" ~President Deiter F. Uchtdorf

Keep on keepin on. Likkle more. Big up yuhself.

Nuff love,
Sister Garrett

1) A captured sunset πŸ™‚
2) Deep fried oreos!
3) What they call Sisters. For Bretheren they pronounce it Bredren.
4) The ultimate awkward family picture. From the gangsta to the crazy to the worried! I love this district!

Leave a Reply

