Week #43 I Don’t Know About You, But I’m Feeling 22!!

Thanks Tay Swift for the sweet Subject line haha 🙂 So yup, this past week was my birthday! I had a pretty wonderful one. I woke up and was reading my Book of Mormon when all of a sudden I was covered in Oats! We didn’t have any flour, so Sister Wright threw oats all over me. Then I was going to start cleaning up when corn meal powder stuff gets all over me! So instead of getting floured, I got oats and corn meal! Haha 🙂 It was fun! Sister Wright got me a beautiful necklace from one of my favorite touristy shops. I’ll attach a picture, and she made me a cute card! I am blessed to have such a wonderful companion who made my day so special. We also celebrated my birthday the day before at the Powell’s house! We had pizza, chicken wings and a whole lot of ice cream cake. It was delicious. We also played games for FHE with them. Also on the day before my birthday (P-day) we went to the beach and gathered LOTS of shells for my extended family and friends back home. Oh clarification on last weeks email. We wear our slippers (sandals) to emailing and to the beach, but we don’t wear them proselyting! 🙂

We have worked so incredibly hard this week to find new investigators. Like I mentioned last week, the work is slow at the moment. But, we have been working so hard to find people to teach. Honestly, I don’t think I have ever worked so hard in my entire mission. I am on a mission to bring people to Christ. I can’t accomplish that with out people to teach. Just like it says in Preach My Gospel "Nothing happens in missionary work until you find people to teach". So we truly have been working hard and changing how we do things in order to find new people.

We had a really good Zone Meeting on Wednesday. It was all about how to improve our personal and companion studies. I know I needed to hear what was said and apply it to my everyday life. I have since done so, and I feel like my studies are wonderful! We also had a very spiritual DLC (District Leader Council) after Zone Meeting in which we talked with the Zone Leaders about member work. It was a powerful, spirit filled council. Those 5ish hours were very spiritual! I am grateful that my fearless Zone Leaders prepared the things that Heavenly Father wanted them to prepare. Elder England and Elder Jarvis are absolutely wonderful!

I was studying during personal studies this week and had a mind blown moment. I can’t remember where I was reading this, but in essence I read about how the Sacrament renews ALL of our covenants, not just our baptismal covenants. I guess I hadn’t really ever thought of that before. We take the Sacrament to renew every convent we have made with God. We go to the temple, not to renew our covenants but to be reminded of our covenants. Yea, cool right?

Transfer Calls are on Saturday and I have been in Cayman almost 6 months… We will see what President Brown has in store for the Sisters in Cayman!

I know that this is God’s work. Missionaries, when obedient, won’t fail. God didn’t send us on our missions to fail but rather to succeed. I love my mission. It is the hardest yet best time of my entire life. I am changing because of Christ. I am grateful for the Sacrifice that Christ has made for me and for each one of you. The Book of Mormon is the word of God. I am also grateful for the words of living prophets 🙂

Quote of the day: "We become what we want to be by consistently being what we want to become each day" ~Richard G. Scott

I hope you all feel how much Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father love you this week!

Love,
Sister Garrett

1) I’m officially 22 years old. Man I am getting old…
2) The Necklace
3) Birthday "flouring"
4) Delicious Dairy Queen cake at the Powells house
5) Shells

Leave a Reply

