Week #40 9 month…. HALF WAY!!!!!

I have hit my half way mark, it is all down hill from here. I am officially half way done with my mission. Where has the time gone? Wow I feel like it was just a couple months ago that I left to come on my mission. ‘Tis not so I guess! But I have been looking through old pictures and contemplating how my past 9 months have been. I had the wonderful opportunity to serve in Ocho Rios and in Grand Cayman. Those two places hold a very dear place in my heart. I have learned a lot about myself and about our Savior these past 9 months as I have been bringing people to Christ. It wasn’t all easy…. But it wasn’t meant to be easy because salvation was never easy. There are things that I wish I would have done differently and such but I am proud of the past 9 months. I have worked hard and my relationship with my Heavenly Father and Savior Jesus Christ has increased tremendously. I am grateful for the past 9 months that I have been serving. I can’t wait to see what is in store for the future. I can’t wait to see where I serve and who I serve with. I love my mission.

So this week was actually really amazing. We taught so many lessons. This past week we had more lessons than any of the previous weeks Sister Wright and I had been together. It was great! We have been working really hard.

We have an investigator named Garth. Garth is one of my favorite people to teach. He is so funny! Garth told us that he felt like he was changing. He doesn’t know why he keeps meeting with us because usually he runs from church people. But he has been recognizing the changes in himself, which is absolutely AMAZING! We are really trying to help him increase his faith in Christ. His faith in Christ has been diminished since recently, so we hope that by meeting with us he will grow to love his Savior. It has been a miracle the way the Lord has been influencing his life and softening his heart. We have only been His mouth piece.

We had another really prepared investigator drop us yesterday…. It was really hard, we actually cried! He texted us to tell us how grateful he was for us teaching him about the gospel but that he wanted to take his time to read the Book of Mormon and read the pamphlet (Restoration pamphlet). That he would call us if he had any questions… It was really sad to hear because we were envisioning him getting baptized, receiving the priesthood and eventually going to the temple to be sealed (his father is a member). But we worked really hard with him and hopefully that seed has been planted deep within his heart.

We also had a great lesson with another investigator named Clive. We met him a long time ago but he has been busy. It was good to finally sit down and have a lesson with him. He says he has more faith than Job. So hopefully he will progress towards being truly converted to Christ and to be baptized. It is one thing to have a testimony of the gospel, but we need to be converted and be true to the gospel.

Funny story of the week: I got attacked by a rooster. Yes, a rooster attacked me. I didn’t do anything to the rooster. One of the members, the Bodden’s, have a mini farm full of chickens, a bunny and ducks in their yard. We were going round to the back to say goodbye to Brother Bodden, Adri and Shawn when all of a sudden I feel this rooster attacking me. I start screaming and running. I try to get onto this plastic crate but it kept attacking me. I ran around to the other side, where Brother Bodden was and it finally stopped. Apparently that rooster had gotten attacked by a dog previously and Sister Bodden’s brother nursed it back to health. It came back with a vengence against humans. I never thought I would say this but I got attacked by a rooster on my mission.

I love you all! I love this gospel. Keep working hard.

CONGRATS TO ALL YOU ENGAGED COUPLES!

Love,
Sister Garrett

1) 9 month mark!
2) My surprise for Sister Wright 🙂
3) Saying goodbye to Monique and Ashley. They are going to Utah for school!
4) Chrishaunna, Sister Wright and I

Leave a Reply

