Week #26 HE LIVES

 

biblecomfortquoteHellohellohello,

So basically I feel like I am on the show “I didn’t know I was pregnant. missionary edition”. I am expecting a likkle pikne (patios for little child) to be my companion sometime this week. If you couldn’t get that cryptic text, that means I am training a brand new missionary…. I am becoming a “mother”. In mission terms the trainer is referred to the trainer and daughter to the trainee! I am training a fresh out of the MTC missionary, which I am extremely nervous for. President Brown always talks about how important trainers are. He has said time and time again that they choose the trainers before they choose new zone leaders, district leaders and any other transfer decision. Pres has said that the trainers are the most important leadership calling you can have because you have ability to form this new missionary’s mission life. On the Saturday before transfer meetings we get calls on who is going to be transferred (which is known as transfer calls). Before transfer calls I had a really strong feeling that I would be training. So I basically knew that I would be training. I get to find out who I am training soon! It has been a holiday Friday-Monday and because of that the mission office has been closed. That being said, I have received no immigration work to do her work permit which means I won’t be receiving her until maybe this upcoming Saturday, Sunday or Monday or even sometime into next week. That is the one downside of being off-island, you have no idea when your companion is coming. Whenever the work permit goes through is when they come.

So since Sister Rampersad had to go back to the island on Sunday, I have been hanging out with the Senior Couple which has been an adventure. I love the Renyolds! Sister Rampersad has changed my life. She has been a light and a joy to work with. She is ending her mission and will be heading back to Trinidad on Thursday. Her and I clicked from day one of our companionship. We worked hard her last transfer as a missionary. I can not say enough about Sister Rampersad aka Sister Ramp aka Sister Rampy aka Sister Ramperswag. She is one of my most favorite people on this planet. I have learned so incredibly much from her. Thank you Sister Rampersad for all that you have done for me.

This weekend was absolutely AMAZING. This conference was by far the best one that I have ever been to. They say that General Conference is different when you are on your mission and boy is that true. Usually back home, Conference felt like it dragged on and on. This time around it FLEW by. It was amazing. I wish I would have brought my conference journal so I can tell you a few of the notes that I wrote down, but I forgot it back at home. There were so many talks that I liked. I liked how Sister Linda K. Burton said that there is nothing more attractive than a man who fulfills all his Priesthood responsibilities worthily, because it is so true! David and Chase, if you want the girls to marry you when you get older make sure you are worthy and you use the Priesthood to the best of your ability. You have the authority to act in God’s name. That is powerful. Don’t ever forget that. We also noticed that marriage and family was talked about a lot during the sessions! It was great 🙂 Oh gosh and Hollands talk was another amazing one. Elder Holland is my favorite apostle! He is always so powerful. And Elder Uchtdorf was amazing as well. Oh and the talk about hearing and dancing to the music as another powerful one. I know that there have been times in my life when I was not hearing the music of the gospel within my heart. I may have been going to church and doing this and that but in truth I was dancing without the music. Awka-awkward. But thank goodness we have the Atonement to be able to repent and do better each and every day of our lives. I am so happy with the announcements of the three new temples! That is amazing. The temple is such a spiritual, sacred and special place. I miss it so much. I diffidently took the temples for granted when I was home. Now that I am so far away from one, I have grown to appreciate and love the temple even more. I cannot wait to go back to the temple! Is it just me or did the Prophet hardly talk this Conference? I thought he talked multiple times but this time he only spoke once… He looked sick as well 😦

This Easter season has been a different one for me. There was no Easter Egg hunt, no Easter Bunny and no family. I got to celebrate the true meaning of Easter. That Christ lives. He was crucified for us but arose from the grave three days later. He died so that we can live again. The Resurrection made it possible for us to be redeemed from physical death and to be able to live in God’s presence. I KNOW HE LIVES. I shout it at the top of my lungs, I know Christ lives. “He lives! All glory to his name! He lives, my Savior still the same. Oh, sweet the joy this sentence gives: I know that my Redeemer lives!”

http://www.mormonchannel.org/watch/collection/easter-videos/because-he-lives

I love you all so very much. Thank you for your support with this wonderful decision that I have made to go on a mission. I have truly been having the time of my life. These next 3 months will be a learning experience, but I am excited for it! I can’t wait for my “daughter” to come 🙂

Love,
Sister Garrett

 

 

Leave a Reply

