Week #25 The week I HAD to go to Nassau, Bahamas

Heyheyhey!

So before everyone freaks out, I was given the okay to e-mail today because we had no time yesterday. The Nassau sisters had Skype interviews with President Brown and we had to fly home to Cayman, so we had no time to e-mail.

This weekend was AMAZING. We flew to Nassau Friday night and came back to Cayman Monday evening. Everyone from the off-island zone was there, the 2 sisters from Turks and Caicos, the 4 sisters from Nassau Bahamas, the 4 elders from Freeport Bahamas and us as well as the AP’s and President and Sister Brown with little Jarom tagging along. Having 8 sisters in the same apartment was a party. Yea we didn’t get a lot of sleep, we just were talking all night!

Saturday was a very spiritual zone conference. I learned so much from the speakers. I could honestly sit and listen to President Brown teach all day. He is a powerful teacher. He taught us about Adam and Eve, our first parents. We talked about the pro’s of not partaking of the fruit; 1) Living in God’s Presence 2) They would never die. We talked about the pro’s of partaking of the fruit; 1) Have knowledge. They would know happiness because they knew pain 2) They would have children. I learned something new. So God told Adam that when he partook of the fruit he would die in a day. Adam was around 965 years old when he died. Well guess how much a day is in God’s timing? 1000 years= 1 day! So Adam really did die the day he partook of the fruit. We also talked about the Atonement. We tend to think of how important Gethsemane and the Cross were for us to be forgiven of our sins. That that is the “biggest” part of the Atonement. Well, I learned that the Resurrection is equally important. Through the Resurrection we are redeemed from the fall. When the Fall of Adam and Eve happened, they were kicked out of God’s presence and they would die. But through the Resurrection we will live with God again and we will become immortal beings. It was such a cool experience. Oh man this Zone Conference was one of the most spiritual meetings I have ever been to. For Lunch Pres bought us Outback, it was yummy! Then after lunch, WE GOT TO WATCH MEET THE MORMONS! I have been waiting and waiting to watch that movie. I didn’t think I was going to be able to watch it on my mission. It came out two days after I entered the MTC… So I was so excited to watch it! I cried through the movie… It was amazing!

It was so cool to be companions with Sister Ramp in Nassau and see her get to experience an area where she served for 6 months. The people here LOVE here and a lot of them cried when they saw her. I hope to have an impact on the people that I serve the way that Sister Ramp is to the Bahamians. We got to go to church in Nassau. I also tried Haitian food at the Branch Presidents house. It was DELICIOUS. Peas and rice (which is different from the Jamaican rice and peas) and turkey wings. It was so good. I learned a few words in Creole as well because there are a lot of Creole speakers in Nassau.

When we got back to Cayman it was raining! HALLELUJAH. Cayman is usually hot like a fiyah, but it cooled down. Apparently there was a storm passing through. Of course the weekend we weren’t there, there would be a storm. Lame. But at least we got to feel a little bit of rain!

I know that the Lord loves each one of his children even though we have made so many mistakes. The Lord is so merciful by letting us have the Plan of Salvation, the Plan of Happiness. We have the knowledge of where we came from, why we are here and where we are going. I am grateful that through the Atonement of Jesus Christ we can be redeemed from the fall, become forgiven of our sins and live with God again. Families can live together forever. I am so grateful for that. I love my family. I don’t think they understand how much I really do love them. My love for them has grown so much as I have been on my mission. I have such a deep and profound love for my family, I can’t even express how much they mean to me. It is hard to be so far away but I know that I will see them soon enough. There is nowhere I would rather be right now than here on my mission. I know this gospel is true.

This week was amazing.

Love,
Sister Garrett

Pic- The off-island sisters.

Leave a Reply

