Week #19 Umbrella

dscn0672
dscn0672

Hello my beautiful family,How is everyone doing? I am doing a lot better this week than last week. I over stressed myself with trying to be a consecrated missionary, with being the missionary that the Lord wants me to be. I got a blessing from Elder Hardy and the first sentance that he spoke was “Heavenly Father is pleased with your work”. That helped me so much because that is all I really want, I just want to please Heavenly Father. It was a really cool experience because it told me in the blessing that sometimes we put up umbreallas that block us from feeling the shower of God’s blessings. So I have been trying to figure out what the umbrella was and in the new Liahona it talks about how things like doubt, fear and sin lead us to put up and umbrella to block out God’s shower of blessings. It was a direct answer to my question. It was amazing. Thank you President Uchdorf, love that man 🙂 After that blessing, this week completely turned around for the better. I am so grateful for my mission.
Update on the work:
Ewanah is amazing and is still progressing towards baptism on March 21st. She is the daughter of a Less Active and we have been working with her for a long time. She loves the gospel and even wants to serve a mission!
Sonya was a referral from the Port Antonio elders, Elder Rammell and Lewis. She is absolutely AMAZING. Her sister was their newly baptized convert. She is progressing towards March 21st as her baptism as well. She loves this gospel and loves the lessons.
Ewanah and Sonya both are some of my friends from the premortal, I know it! I love them both so much.
This week we went on splits and the Sister Training Leaders, Sister Thompson and Sister Bailey, came down and worked with us. I spent from 10:30am-2:30pm with Sister Bailey. It was so fun!
Yesterday we went to the Francis families house with the Elders. We had Jerk pork and cobbler! IT WAS DELICIOUS. Rohan is the best cook ever, his jerk chicken was the best I have ever had. Spicy but delicious.
The work is really progressing here in Ocho Rios. Transfer calls are this Saterday, so we will know if I am staying or leaving next week.
Keep reading your scriptures, praying and going to church. Hold to the iron rod!
Love,
Sister Garrett
PS. Shoutout to all those Febuary birthdays! Kelsee, Tifanny, Aubry, Claire, Elise, Cody, Jackson, Sara, Lisa and Pam. Sorry if I missed anyone! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

1) Last pday hanging out on the beach!

 

 

Leave a Reply

