Week #14 Transfer Calls, a Flour Fight and My Three Month Birthday

Wa’guan family!

Well as you can tell by the title, we recieved our transfer calls this past week! Drumroll please….. Sister Mouritsen is being transfered to Nassau in the BAHAMAS! She is going to kill it out there. I am staying here in the beautiful Ocho Rios and will be recieving Sister Thompson! I absolutely LOVE Sister Thompson. She is Jamaican and is one of the nicest girls you will ever meet. I can’t wait to serve with her. But, it will be so hard to say good-bye to my pre-mortal friend, Sister Mouritsen. She has taught me more than I can ever thank her for. I am grateful that we have had these past 12 weeks together to get lost in this work.

This week has been a rough week. All missionaries have to go through them, but they are NO FUN. We had a lot of cancellations and a lot of people just not show up. The worst one happened on Friday. We have an investigator named Lenny who was supposed to get interviewed by President Brown for baptism. So we told him to be at the church at 9:15, because his interview was at 10:00. We talked to him at 9:10 and he said he was a half hour away. We were like cool, he will be on time! Then he didn’t show. At 10:30 he said he was 10 minutes away. But he never showed. President Brown waited for TWO HOURS. I felt so bad because he drove all the way from Kingston (about 2 hours away) for this interview. And Sister Brown and little Jarom also drove with him. On top of that he was supposed to go to Port Antonio but because we waited so long, he couldn’t because he had to pick up his kids from school… I felt so bad… But on the bright side we got to see President and Sister Brown and the new little baby Jarom! We were the first missionaries in the field to see him šŸ™‚ He is sooo cute! As of now, we still haven’t gotten a hold of Lenny… He dropped off the face of the Earth…

Speaking of babies. SISTER ROBINSON HAD HER BABY! Such a cute baby. We got to see her when she was not even a day old. I don’t think I have ever seen a baby that young. The skin was so pruny. But mom and baby are both healthy.

Last night we had FHE with the Francis Family. I love that family. So here in Jamaica when it is a birthday, holiday or special occasion you can get floured (and egged). Since it is Sister Mouritsens last FHE with them, and since they always flour the missionaries that leave, a flour war started. Basically to flour someone you just throw flour all over the person. You just throw flour all over everyone. I WAS COVERED IN FLOUR. At one point I was bending down and all of a sudden one of the kids threw flour into my face…. My eyes were open… That hurt… Haha but over all it was soooooo fun. Lets just say that I am continuing that tradition when I get home. Chase, I get home around your birthday, you better watch out šŸ˜‰

Even though this last week was rough, I am still so grateful to be a missionary at this time. You have to have the bad weeks in order to understand the good weeks and to have that complete joy. I am grateful for this gospel. I love it with all of my heart. I am grateful that I get to stay in Ochi for another six weeks šŸ™‚

Love,
Sistah Garrett

PS Read this BYU Speech, it is seriously AMAZING!
http://speeches.byu.edu/?act=viewitem&id=984

dscn0259
dscn0259
Leave a Reply

